top of page

Perspective: Stopping at Yes

I really need to get my head on straight.

Later this evening I'll be doing a reading from my novel, something I've dreamed of for a long time. Yet I've spent the day fretting the details. Beverages: check. Cheese: check. But somewhere along the way I've forgotten to have a good time. Just a few weeks ago I was compelling you to enjoy the moment, and here I've completely forgotten my own advice. Which reminds me of something a salesman once said: stop talking when they say yes.

Through some miracle I got a bookstore to host my event. Luckily I haven't done anything in the interim to screw that gig up, but I have forgotten to enjoy it. That's the other part about "Yes" one has to be sure to accept: the joy of it.

Afterall, it's not just about the sale, or about the commission (if that's relevant to you). It's about the doing of it, and the doing of it successfully. Those times can be scarce, so enjoy it when it happens.

Courtesy maremaguide.com

So I think I'll stop fretting now, maybe have a little wine and remember: it's not every day I'll get to do this. Take a deep breath and enjoy the moment. There may be things to fret about on Monday, but for now, it's

.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page